50. Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

In the conclusion to the Lord of the Rings trilogy, Frodo and Sam approach Mount Doom to destroy the ring whilst Gandalf et al try to fight off Sauron’s army.

What Tierna thinks: “I’ll be honest, I celebrated when ‘The End’ came up on the screen. I just couldn’t relate to this film in any way and therefore found it very hard to enjoy it. The cinematography is excellent in parts and I can appreciate the craftsmanship and attention to detail that went into it. When it comes down to it though… sorry folks,  this one isn’t for me.  I’ll give it a four out of ten.”

What Tom thinks: “Tierna has just said ‘I love Grease’ which is on TV at the moment and probably gives a good idea of why she doesn’t like LOTR!  I’ve seen all three films in the cinema, which is really the best way to watch them, although I have to admit I’m not a big fan of fantasy films.  On the plus side, the effects are great, the battles are epic and it looks fantastic.  However, it’s bloody long and the final half hour is quite unnecessary.  On the basis of how much I like this I’d give it a seven, but just to annoy Tierna I’ll give it an eight out of ten.”

Up next: Knocked Up

Leave a Reply

